2012 All-MPSF Women's Water Polo Selections

May 1, 2012

2012 All-MPSF Selections

2012 MPSF Player of the Year


UCLA senior goalkeeper Caitlin Dement (Chino, CA/Ayala HS) carries a 5.22 goals-against average entering the NCAA Tournament, the third-lowest among MPSF goalkeepers. Starting all 24 games for the Bruins this season, Dement has totaled 226 saves, the third-highest total in UCLA program history. She has started in the cage for UCLA since the start of her sophomore season and enters the NCAA Tournament having collected 673 career saves, fourth-most in school history. Dement has registered a season-high 14 saves in three games this season, most recently in UCLA’s 9-5 MPSF Quarterfinal victory over San Diego State. Dement finished the MPSF Tournament last weekend with 33 saves, securing Most Valuable Player honors on the All-Tournament Team.

2012 MPSF Newcomer of the Year


Stanford freshman Kiley Neushul (Goleta, CA/Dos Pueblos HS) currently ranks third in the conference in scoring average with 2.20 goals per contest, pouring in 55 goals in 25 games. In the absence of several key players, she has helped lead the Cardinal to a 23-2 season as they take the No. 1 seed to the NCAA Tournament. No other MPSF Women’s Water Polo player has ever earned more conference awards in a single year (nine) than Neushul. In addition to the MPSF Newcomer of the Year award, she was named newcomer of the week four times, player of the week once, as well as being selected to the MPSF All-Tournament, all-newcomer, and first-team all-conference lists. Neushul has seen action as a member of both the junior and senior United States National teams.

2012 MPSF Coach of the Year


UCLA head coach Brandon Brooks has guided the Bruins to a 21-3 overall record, its second MPSF Tournament championship in his three seasons at the helm, and an automatic berth in the upcoming NCAA Tournament. The Bruins have a national-high six wins this year over top-three competition. A former standout goalkeeper for the UCLA men’s water polo team (1999-2002), Brooks becomes the first UCLA coach to win the award since 2008, when Adam Krikorian earned MPSF Coach of the Year acclaim before leading that team to a fourth consecutive NCAA title. The current Bruins entered the MPSF Tournament (Apr. 27-29) as the No. 2 seed and captured the conference crown with an 8-7 overtime victory at No. 1-seed Stanford. Brooks has led UCLA to the NCAA Tournament in each of his three seasons as head coach.