USC, Colorado Headed to NCAA's

Johnna Fusco, Colorado (photo courtesy CU)
May 7, 2017

NCAA Women's Lacrosse Bracket

MPSF Lacrosse Release 13

No. 7 USC (8-0 MPSF/16-3 Overall) defended its MPSF Championship with a 16-11 win over No. 2 seed Colorado, following an 18-7 semifinal outcome over San Diego State. Gussie Johns, Michaela Michael, and Kaeli Huff were all-tournament honorees, while Gabby McMahon was named most valuable player. McMahon recorded a career-high four goals in the finals, while Michael added four goals and a game-high seven draw controls. Johns stopped 13 shots and had a school record nine ground balls (T-2nd MPSF history) in the finals, and Huff and Cynthia Del Core added three goals each. Johns enters the NCAA’s with a single-season MPSF record 85 ground balls, and No. 2 all-time with 181. Michael set an MPSF single-season record for goals with 71, breaking a more-than decade old record when she passed Katie McMahon of UC Davis (69 goals in 2005). She also set a new MPSF single-season record for draw controls with 126, which broke her own record of 123 set in 2015. USC faces Jacksonville Friday (May 12) in the NCAA Tournament’s first-round in Gainesville, FL, with the winner meeting No. 3 seed and host Florida Sunday (May 14) in the second round.

No. 10 COLORADO (7-1 MPSF/16-3 Overall) made its first appearance in the MPSF Championship game, defeating Stanford in the semifinals, 14-13. Miranda Stinson, Johnna Fusco, and Sarah Brown were each named to the all-tournament team. Stinson totaled eight goals, including tying the school record of five in the win followed by three in the finals vs. USC. Brown had a career-high six caused turnovers in the semi, and Fusco had four goals in the finals. Fusco enters the NCAA Tournament with 172 career goals, fifth in MPSF history. She has also compiled 218 career points, seven from the MPSF’s top-10. Darby Kiernan has 118 draw controls this year, ranked third in MPSF single-season history entering NCAA’s. Colorado is headed to its first-ever NCAA Tournament, facing Massachusetts Friday (May 12) in Philadelphia. The winner takes on the Penn-Navy winner in Sunday’s second round.