BYU Tops 2018 MPSF Coaches' Poll

BYU opens 2018 as the MPSF Favorite (Photo by BYU).
Dec. 8, 2017

2018 MPSF Men's Volleyball Coaches' Poll

BYU narrowly placed ahead of UCLA with 33 points and four first-place votes in taking the top spot in the MPSF Men’s Volleyball Coaches’ poll for the third-straight year. The Cougars have reached the NCAA title match the last two years. Senior setter Leo Durkin returns to connect with outside hitter Brenden Sander and middle blocker Price Jarman – each coming off an AVCA All-America Honorable Mention season. UCLA finished just one point behind BYU with 32, and was given a pair of first-place votes. The Bruins return several starters from 2017, including all-conference outsides Jake Arnitz and JT Hatch. Setter/hitter Micah Ma’a is also back, along with middle Daenan Gyimah, each 2017 All-MPSF honorees. Pepperdine and Stanford ended up tying for third in the poll with 22 points. The Waves and the Cardinal finished in a three-way tie with USC in the final 2017 standings. Pepperdine welcomes back All-American hitter and first-team All-MPSF honoree David Wieczorek, while Stanford All-Americans Kevin Rakestraw (MB) and Evan Enriques (libero) are back in the lineup. Jordan Ewert is a returning all-conference hitter for the Cardinal. The Trojans, who picked up the remaining first-place vote and 18 points, return senior setter Gert Lisha to guide the offense. New to the MPSF in 2018 will be Grand Canyon and Concordia. The Antelopes, who collected 14 points, join the MPSF on the heels of reaching the MIVA Finals last year. Cullen Mosher returns as an All-MIVA hitter. The Eagles rounded out the poll having won 18 matches last year, which included a win at then MPSF member UCSB.

Each MPSF team has 12 conference matches on its schedule this year, which features a home and away against each opponent. The 2018 MPSF Championship Tournament begins with seeds two, three, and four hosting a quarterfinal match on April 14. The conference semifinals are on April 19, on the home floor of the No. 1 seed. The top seed will host the lowest available seed that night in the second match. Semifinal winners will battle on April 21 for the MPSF Championship, contested at the semifinal site, with an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament on the line (May 3-5 at UCLA).