Alan Knipe Named MPSF Coach of the Year

Long Beach State Head Coach Alan Knipe (Photo by USATSI)
April 25, 2017

2017 MPSF Volleyball Coach of the Year


Long Beach State University head coach Alan Knipe guided the 2017 49ers to the school’s first-ever MPSF Championship in any sport, as well as the program’s second-straight NCAA Tournament berth for the first time since he played on the 1990-91 teams. Through the conference title, Long Beach State owns MPSF-highs of 27 wins (20 sweeps) and a .900 win percentage. Only one other team in MPSF rally scoring history (since 2001) has completed a season with a .900 or better win percentage. The 49ers also recorded an undefeated home schedule at 16-0. LBSU strung together 14 consecutive conference wins this year, achieved only two other times by an MPSF team in the last decade.

Entering the NCAA Tournament, Long Beach State is the 2017 national leader in hitting percentage with a .371 clip, while allowing opponents to hit just .183 (MPSF-best). The 49ers are in position to set MPSF rally scoring records in each category. Setter Josh Tuaniga ranks No. 1 nationally in assists per set (11.13), as does Amir Lugo Rodriguez in blocks per set (1.30). MPSF Player of the Year and tournament most valuable player TJ DeFalco is the only outside hitter ranked within the MPSF’s top-15 in hitting (.394). Long Beach State placed a high of six players on the all-conference teams, with DeFalco, Tuaniga, Lugo Rodriguez, Kyle Ensing, Andrew Sato, and Bryce Yould earning an honor.

Knipe was previously named MPSF Coach of the Year in 2008, and AVCA National Coach of the Year in 2004. Long Beach State has posted a 278-145 overall record under Knipe (.657), and a 220-113 (.661) mark in MPSF action. He has served as head coach of the 49ers since 2001, with a brief hiatus from 2010-12 when he coached the United States Men’s National Team.