MPSF Roots Connected With SCIVBHOF Class

Marv Dunphy, Pepperdine
Jan. 4, 2017

In the initial Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame (SCIVBHOF) class, 14 of its 25 inductees have roots to the MPSF, having competed and/or coached throughout the precursor and current days of the conference. Prior to the MPSF's inaugural season of 1993, the conference was called the Southern California Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (1970-77), followed by the California Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (1978-86), and the Western Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (1987-92). UCLA, USC, Pepperdine, and San Diego State have members in the first induction class who were members of each of these leagues.

UCLA selections include former head coach Al Scates, head coach and player Andy Banachowski, and players Karch Kiraly (1979-82), Sinjin Smith (1976-79), Ricci Luyties (1981-84) and Doug Partie (1981-84). Scates coached the Bruins to 19 NCAA Championships while in charge of the program for 50 years (1963-2012). He has the only three unbeaten seasons in men's volleyball history (1979, '82, '84), and is the only coach to win four-straight NCAA titles (1981-84). Banachowski was a setter for Scates, and won USVBA titles in 1965 and '67, also earning All-American honors in the latter season. He won six national championships while coaching the Bruin women. Kiraly won three NCAA titles, was a four-time All-American, and owns the best four-year playing record in men's history at 123-5. Two-time All-American Smith was a setter-hitter on the Bruins' 1976 and '79 NCAA title teams. Partie and Luyties are the only two players in men's history to start on four NCAA Championship teams. Partie was a three-time All-American middle blocker and Luyties was twice named All-American and NCAA Tournament MVP.

USC hall of famers include Dusty Dvorak (1977-80), Steve Timmons (1980-82) and Bryan Ivie (1988-91). Four-time All-American Dvorak set the Trojans to their first and second NCAA titles in 1977 and 1980. Timmons was a two-time All-American who led the Trojans to the 1980 NCAA Championship, and NCAA Tournament his other two years. Three-time All-American Ivie was a member of two NCAA title teams (1988, '90), and was USC's first two-time collegiate player of the year.

Pepperdine inductees include current head coach Marv Dunphy along with former players Bob Ctvrtlik (1985), Craig Buck (1977-81) and Jeff Stork (1982-84). Dunphy is currently in his 34th-year as head coach of the Waves, having four national championships to his name. He was the 2005 national coach of the year, three-time MPSF Coach of the Year, and has produced a record six different AVCA Player of the Year recipients. Ctvrtlik was a national player of the year and NCAA Tournament MVP on the Waves' 1985 title team. Buck was a 6-9 two-time All-American middle blocker, while Stork was a three-time first-team All-American setter.

San Diego State's lone NCAA Men's Volleyball title came in 1973, after a runner-up 1972 season, led by middle blocker and SCIVBHOF selection Chris Marlowe.

Elissa Sato, who had a long career as a volleyball scorekeeper and is a mother and grandmother to the Sato volleyball family, was selected for the first SCIVBHOF Lifetime Service Award. She has been involved in Southern California Volleyball for nearly 50 years, including scorekeeping matches at UCLA, USC, Pepperdine, and Loyola Marymount from the 1970's into the 2000's. Her son Gary is a current assistant coach for USC and was part of Pepperdine's 1978 and 2005 NCAA title teams. Her grandson Andrew is a libero for Long Beach State.

The Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame (SCIVBHOF) will be housed at American Sports Centers in Anaheim. The location is at the site of the training center for the USA Men's and Women's National Teams. The event is set for Sunday night, May 7 at the Highway 39 Event Center in Anaheim. Other 2017 SCIVBHOF inductees are: Laurel Brassey Iversen, Deitre Collins-Parker, Tara Cross-Battle, Rolf Engen, Debbie Green, Kathy Gregory, Misty May-Treanor, Kim Oden, Mike O'Hara, Gene Selznick, and Paula Weishoff.