MPSF Adds UC San Diego Swim & Dive

June 22, 2018

MPSF Adds UC San Diego-PDF Release

WOODLAND, CA--- The Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Administrative Committee has granted membership to the University of California San Diego for competition in men’s and women's swimming and diving beginning with the 2018-19 season. The addition of UCSD gives the MPSF 14 teams in the sport, eight on the women’s side and six for the men. The Tritons will compete in the 2019 MPSF Championship Meet against Brigham Young University; California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo; University of Hawaii; University of the Pacific; University of California, Santa Barbara; University of California, Davis (women) and the University of San Diego (women). The swim portion of the 2019 conference championship is set to be held February 20-23 at East Los Angeles College in Monterey Park, California for the eighth-straight year, while diving will be contested February 21-23 at the Rose Bowl Aquatic Center in Pasadena, California for the sixth-straight year.

"The MPSF welcomes UC San Diego into our 2019 swimming and diving championship,” said MPSF Executive Director Al Beaird. “Our coaches showed strong support for UCSD’s future membership. Despite its current NCAA Division II status, we expect the Tritons to be competitive as they are very well coached and are ramping up for NCAA Division I and Big West Conference membership in 2020-21.”

Located in La Jolla, California, the swimming and diving programs from UC San Diego transition into the MPSF from the Pacific Collegiate Swimming and Diving Conference (PCSC), where both its men’s and women’s teams won the last 10 titles. The women’s team finished in seventh-place at the 2018 NCAA Division II Championships, while the two Triton teams combined for 23 All-American honors along with 20 All-American honorable mentions. UC San Diego athletic programs, which are transitioning primarily into the Big West Conference, have two years remaining on the Division II level. In the fall of 2020, the Tritons will enter an NCAA-mandated four-year reclassification period, ultimately becoming full Division I members and eligible for postseason NCAA Championship competition beginning in the fall of 2024. UCSD has totaled 30 national championships across its athletic department.

"We are very excited to join the MPSF and step up to the challenge of competing in one of the strongest conference [championship] meets in the west,” said UC San Diego Head Coach David Marsh, who will enter his second year at the helm of the Tritons. “The depth and quality of the swimming and diving events in the MPSF will present a big challenge to our student-athletes. We look forward to joining these great academic and athletic programs in spirited and healthy competition." Marsh also served as head coach for the United States Women’s National Team, which won an unprecedented 16 medals (eight gold) at the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games.

The MPSF enters its 27th year of NCAA Division I competition in 2018-19, and its ninth year of hosting a swimming and diving championship. The MPSF owns 92 NCAA Championships across 11 sports dating back to its 1992-93 inaugural year.