All-MPSF Women's Swimming and Diving Selections

Gregg Wilson is the 2012 MPSF Women's Swimming and Diving Coach of the Year.

Feb. 22, 2012

2012 All-MPSF Women's Swimming and Diving Selections

2012 MPSF Athlete of the Year


UC Santa Barbara sophomore Andrea Ward (San Leandro, CA/Campolindo HS) won three individual and three relay titles at the 2012 MPSF Championship Meet. She set meet records in the 100 Fly (52.98), 200 Fly (1:59.16), and 200 Medley Relay (1:39.63), each the first to stop the clock in NCAA ‘B’ Cut times. Ward also swam on the winning 800 Free (7:17.82) and 400 Medley Relay (3:39.89) teams, in addition to taking home the Gold in the 500 Free (4:50.41). She additionally swam on the second-place 400 Free Relay (3:23.01) team. Ward was twice honored during the season as the conference athlete of the week, setting school records in the 100 Fly, 200 Fly, 200 Free, and 800 Free Relay along the way.

2012 MPSF Freshman of the Year


UC Santa Barbara freshman Katie Records (Lafayette, CA/Acalanes HS) turned in a remarkable  MPSF Championship Meet in her first-ever appearance. She claimed the 200 Breaststroke Title, placed third in the 100 Breast, and 11th in the 200 Individual Medley. Her winning 200 Breast time of 2:13.41 was also an NCAA ‘B’ consideration standard time, as was her third-place 100 Breast mark of 1:02.08. Records added a third-place consolation final outcome in the 200 IM in 2:04.13. She provided 42 total points within these three events towards the silver team finish for UCSB.

2012 MPSF Coach of the Year


UC Santa Barbara Head Coach Gregg Wilson, in his 28th year at the helm of the women’s swimming program, led the Gauchos to their second straight silver medal finish at the MPSF Championship Meet with 699 points. Throughout the four-day event, UCSB won 10 event titles, set five new meet records, and broke six school records. The Gaucho women also posted a total of 14 NCAA ‘B’ consideration standard times during the conference meet. UCSB won six of nine dual meets in the 2011-12 season. A 27-time Big West Conference Coach of the Year, this award marks his first in the MPSF, after two years in the conference.