MPSF Championships Next Up, Feb. 15-18

Serena Yee, UC Davis (Photo by Mark Honbo)
Feb. 8, 2017

MPSF Swim & Dive Championship Release

UC DAVIS is a four-time MPSF Champion out of the six years contested, including last year. The Aggies come off a 182-118 win at home over Pacific to close the regular season (Feb. 4). Serena Yee won both diving events with MPSF season-bests, including a school record 301.05 on three-meter and 287.55 on one-meter. Marissa Brown took wins in the 500 free (5.04.14) and 1000 free (10.21.38), Eva Chung the 200 IM (2.06.37) and 200 fly (2.06.24), and Kristin Schumann the 200 breast (2.19.11) and 100 breast (1.05.08). Schumann is the MPSF’s top-ranked swimmer in the 200 breast, as is Solie Laughlin in the 400 IM, 100 back, and 200 back.

PACIFIC women closed the regular season at UC Davis (Feb. 4). Individual Tiger wins came from Kenna Ramey in the 50 free (23.79) and the 100 fly (56.19), Vaiva Gimbutyte in the 100 free (52.64) and Taylor Hosmer in the 200 free (1.53.34). Ramey had a third win on the first-place 200 medley relay (1.45.16). On the men’s side, Yahav Shahaff has the MPSF’s top 100 breast this year.

UCSB men (190.5-101.5) and women (165-129) won at Cal Poly (Jan. 28) to close the regular season. Amongst the Gaucho leaders this year has been Heaven Quintana, owning the MPSF’s top women’s 100 fly, 200 fly, and 100 breast. Three-time men’s athlete of the week Billy Mullis has the MPSF’s top 100 back and 100 fly, as does Logan Hotchkiss in the 500 free and 1000 free, Chris Nolan in the 200 fly, and Jonathan Panchak in the 200 breast.

BYU men have won four MPSF Championships, including the last three. The women have one title from 2012. Last in action, Cougar divers competed at the Air Force Invitational (Jan. 27-28). Matt Denkers (338.95) and Kevin Dreesen (335.70) placed one-two on the men’s three-meter. Payton Sorenson has the MPSF’s No. 1 men’s 50 free and 100 free, as does Preston Jenkins in the 200 free.

CAL POLY hosted UCSB (Jan. 28) to wrap the regular season, as Bonnie Diamond won two events for the women. She placed first in the 200 free (1.53.10) and 500 free (5.00.37). Zach Cootes recorded a pair of second-place swims for the men, in the 200 fly (1.49.45) and 400 IM (4.03.08). He is the MPSF’s top-ranked swimmer in the 400 IM.

SAN DIEGO dropped its regular season finale at UC San Diego, 197-96 (Jan. 28). Danielle Taylor had three top three individual finishes, winning the 100 fly (56.71), taking second in the 100 free (52.26), and third in the 50 free (24.48).

HAWAII women won an MPSF Championship in 2015, the first Rainbow Wahine MPSF title in any sport. Franziska Weidner is a four-time athlete of the week this year, owning the top 100 free, 200 free, and 200 IM in the conference. Metin Aydin was a three-time honoree for the Warriors, and has the MPSF’s top 200 IM and 200 back.