USC Second All-Time to Sweep MPSF Team Titles

Photo by Scott Eklund/Red Box Pictures
Photo by Scott Eklund/Red Box Pictures
Feb. 24, 2018

2018 MPSF Championship-Complete Results

2018 MPSF Championship Recap

2018 MPSF Championship Records

Women's Mile: Elise Cranny, Stanford (4:31.29)

Women's Shot Put: Maggie Ewen, Arizona State (62'-3.25"--also Dempsey Indoor Record)

Men's 400-Meter: Rai Benjamin, USC (45.94--also Dempsey Indoor Record)

Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Indoor Track and Field celebrated its 26th year of competition with the 2018 championship meet at the University of Washington's Dempsey Indoor Facility for the 16th consecutive year, Feb. 23-24. The 2018 MPSF Championship featured a meet record 22 universities comprised from members of the Pac-12, Big West, and West Coast Conferences. A total of 22 women's teams competed for a conference title, along with 15 on the men's side. At the conclusion of the two-day meet, the USC women won their fourth title in the last five years, compiling 122 points, 24 ahead of second-place Stanford. The Trojan men also came away with the title with 107 points, 31.5 ahead of runner-up BYU. USC became the second school ever to sweep the MPSF Championship for both genders, joining the University of Arizona from 1995 in what was the meet's third year. The Oregon women and men were the 2018 bronze medal teams.

Three meet records were broken at the MPSF Championship meet. Stanford's Elise Cranny broke the MPSF record in the women's mile by nearly four seconds (4:31.29), set by Oregon's Jordan Hasay in 2010 (4:35.01). Also on the women's side, Maggie Ewen of Arizona State completed a sweep in the throws with an MPSF record-setting shot put heave of 62-feet, three and one-quarter inches. For the second-straight year, one men's record was taken down, and again done by a Trojan. Rai Benjamin became the first-ever MPSF Athlete, and the first-ever in Dempsey Indoor history, to break the 46-second barrier in the 400-meter. His 45.94 finish took down a 16-year-old record from 2002 (Mike Kenyon, Arizona; 46.02).

The 2018 NCAA Men's and Women's Indoor Track and Field Championships will be held March 9 and 10, at Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium in College Station, TX. The MPSF has produced nine of the last 11 NCAA women's champions and 11 all-time (Oregon winning the last two and seven of the last eight), while the MPSF men own five NCAA titles (three of the last four years won by Oregon).

2018 MPSF Final Women's Championship Team Scores

1) USC ---122

2) Stanford---98

3) Oregon---84

4) California---56

5) UCLA---55

6) Colorado---41

7) BYU---37

8) Arizona State---35

9) Washington---30

10) Washington St.---28

11) Arizona---22

12) UC Davis---12

13) Hawaii---10

14) Long Beach St.---8

15) Utah---7

16) San Francisco---6

17) Cal St. Fullerton---5

18) Cal St. Northridge---4

19) UC Riverside---3

2018 MPSF Final Men's Championship Team Scores

1) USC ---107

2) BYU---75.5

3) Oregon---65

4) UCLA---62

5) Washington State---54

6) Colorado---49

7) Washington---46.5

8) California---46

9) Arizona---42

10) Stanford---36

11) Long Beach State---22

11) Arizona State---22

13) Portland---20

14) CSUN---13

15) UC Riverside---1