USC Women, Oregon Men Win MPSF Championship

Photo Courtesy University of Washington
Feb. 25, 2017

MPSF Post-Championship Release and Records

Complete Championship Results

Day One Championship Results

Live Championship Results

MPSF Championship Records (Feb. 25):

Women's 60-meter: Hannah Cunliffe, Oregon (7.15; also ties Dempsey Facility Record)

Women's 60-meter hurdles: Sasha Wallace, Oregon (7.95; breaks the oldest lasting women's meet record of 2004)

Women's 4x400 meter relay: USC (3:32.54; ties meet and Dempsey Facility Record)

Men's High Jump: Randall Cunningham, USC (7'-5.25")

MPSF Championship Records (Feb. 24):

Women's 200-meter: Kendall Ellis, USC (23:09-also Dempsey Facility record)

Women's 60-meter prelim: Hannah Cunliffe, Oregon (7.19--ties MPSF record)

2017 MPSF Championship Preview

Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Indoor Track and Field celebrates its 25th year of competition with the 2017 championship meet at the University of Washington's Dempsey Indoor Facility for the 15th consecutive season, Friday and Saturday (Feb. 24-25). Friday begins at 12 noon (PT) with the women's weight throw and concludes at 7:25 p.m. with the men's Distance Medley Relay. The first event Saturday takes off at 10:30 a.m. with the men's heptathlon 60-meter hurdles. The men's 4 X 400 meter relay will end this year's championship meet at 2:40 p.m. The 2017 MPSF Championship features 20 universities comprised from members of the Pac-12, Big West, and West Coast Conferences. A total of 35 teams will compete for a conference title, 20 for the women and 15 for the men. Joining the MPSF for the first time will be the men and women from UC Riverside.

In 2016, the Oregon women took back the conference crown after a two-year run by USC. The Ducks proceeded to win their sixth national title in the last seven years. The Oregon men have won the last three NCAA Championships, though USC won its first MPSF title last year. The 2017 NCAA Men's and Women's Indoor Track and Field Championships will be contested March 10 and 11, at Gilliam Indoor Track in College Station, TX. The MPSF has produced eight of the last 10 NCAA women's champions and 10 all-time, while the MPSF men own five total.

On the women's side, six-time NCAA Champion Oregon is the nation's No. 1 ranked team (244.40 points). USC is fifth (119.70), BYU is 17th (43.16), Arizona No. 20 (33.78), Colorado No. 22 (31.24), and Stanford No. 23 (30.98). BYU's ranking is its first in the four-year tenure of Head Coach Ed Eyestone....Oregon men rank third nationally (105.79), along with Colorado No. 7 (79.44), USC No. 17 (50.97), Washington No. 19 (49.98), and Stanford No. 22 (45.03). Across the nation, the MPSF as a conference holds a No. 2 index rating for both the men and women. Rankings are as of February 20, 2017, provided by and