MPSF Indoor Track Championship Preview

UW's Dempsey Indoor hosts the MPSF Championship for the 16th-straight year (Photo by Dan DeLong)
UW's Dempsey Indoor hosts the MPSF Championship for the 16th-straight year (Photo by Dan DeLong)
Feb. 20, 2018

2018 MPSF Indoor Track and Field Championship

Friday-Saturday, February 23-24

Host: Dempsey Indoor Facility, University of Washington; Seattle, Wash.

2018 MPSF Indoor Track & Field Championship Preview

UW Championship Page

2018 Championship Schedule

MPSF Championship Records

Live Championship Results

Live Championship Video--FloTrack Subscription

Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Indoor Track and Field celebrates its 26th year of competition with the 2018 championship meet at the University of Washington’s Dempsey Indoor Facility for the 16th consecutive season, Friday and Saturday (Feb. 23-24). Friday begins at 12 noon (PT) with the women’s weight throw and concludes at 7:25 p.m. with the men’s Distance Medley Relay. The first event Saturday takes off at 10:30 a.m. with the men’s heptathlon 60-meter hurdles, before the men’s 4 X 400 meter relay will end this year’s championship meet at 2:40 p.m. The 2018 MPSF Championship features 22 universities comprised from members of the Pac-12, Big West, and West Coast Conferences. A meet record total of 37 teams will compete for a conference title, 22 for the women and 15 for the men. Making their debut in this year’s championship event will be the women from UC Davis and the University of San Francisco.

At the conclusion of the 2017 MPSF Championship, the USC women won their third conference title in the last four years, ahead of second-place Oregon by 20 points. The top-two was reversed on the men’s side, with the Ducks winning a third MPSF title and the Trojans finishing as runners-up. The Stanford women and UCLA men were the 2017 bronze medalists.

The 2018 NCAA Men’s and Women’s Indoor Track and Field Championships will be held March 9 and 10, at Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium in College Station, TX. The MPSF has produced nine of the last 11 NCAA women’s champions and 11 all-time (Oregon winning the last two and seven of the last eight), while the MPSF men own five NCAA titles (three of the last four years won by Oregon).

On the women’s side, USC is ranked second in the nation (158.86), Oregon is fifth (120.38), Stanford ninth (80.41), Colorado 18th (41.28), and Arizona State 20th (38.24). USC men rank fourth nationally (109.96), along with Oregon at No. 13 (58.30), and Stanford No. 16 (53.97). Across the nation, the MPSF as a conference holds a No. 2 index rating for the women and No. 3 for the men. Rankings are as of February 19, 2018, provided by and